Brief History

The Law Department is headed by a Senior District Judge of the cadre of Orissa Superior Judicial Service ( Senior Branch) who is designated as Principal Secretary to the Government. There are four other Senior Judicial Officers of the rank of District Judges, one of whom is designated as Legal Remembrance-cum-Special Secretary. The Judicial Officers working in this Department come on deputation generally for a term of 3 years. Other than Judicial Officers, there are officers in the Law Department working in two Branches, namely, Legislative Wing and Translation Branch.

The hierarchy of the Legislative Wing is as follows:

Special Secretary 1
Addl. Secretary 1
Joint Secretary 2
Deputy Secretary 1
Under Secretary 2
Law Officer 4
Asst. Law Officer 5 (2-Vacant)

Similarly, the hierarchy of Translation Branch is as follows:

Additional Secretary 1 Upgraded from Post of Joint Secretary
Deputy Secretary 1
Under Secretary 3 (2 Vacant)
Research Officer 2 (Vacant)
Translator 2 (Vacant)